Fayette County History & Genealogy

History of Fayette County

From R. S. Dills' History of Fayette County


March 5, 1845, William Rankin presented a petition to the commissioners for a new township to be taken from Jefferson and Concord, beginning in the northwest corner of R. Claborn's survey 889, and following the present boundaries of Jasper until it strikes the southwest corner of Jefferson on Sugar Creek; thence northeast following the present line of Jefferson and Union to Paint Creek; thence up Paint Creek to the dividing line of the Trent and White surveys, numbers respectively 942 and 1205; thence west to beginning, including, as will be seen, the southern point of Jefferson.

On the second day of December, 1845, by petition of Joseph J. Parrott, Jasper was reduced to her present limits, and electors assembled April 7th, at the house of John Andrews, to elect officers.

The following record gives the date of the organization of Concord:

Friday, May 1, 1818. It appearing to the court that a new township has been set off by the commissioners, called Concord, it is ordered that there be one justice of the peace elected in this township, the electors to meet at the house of Edward Figgins, on the third Monday of the present month for this purpose.

The boundaries at this date are not given. In 1828, its bounds were defined as beginning on the east, at Hankins' Run, (vid. seq.) and following the line of Green to the northeast corner of Clinton County; thence northwest to Sugar Creek, and down Sugar to beginning. In 1848, the line was run between Concord and Green, beginning at Hankins' Run, thence south 36°, 26' west, 3 miles and 120 poles, crossing said run to a stake one-half pole on northwest side of a pile of clay, the remains of the chimney of John Draper's house; thence south 63°, 4' west, 3 miles and 160 poles to a road near Jerry McFlay's house, crossing Rattlesnake at 40 poles, Lee's Creek at 2 miles and 52 poles; thence continuing same course, south 3° 4', west 1 mile and 48 poles to line of Clinton and Fayette counties, which distance, 8 miles and 14 poles, is well marked with a hand ax, with three hacks on a side. March 3, 1849, this line was so altered as to run from the hanks of Sugar Creek where the lines of Concord and Green join, thence with said line to the state road running from Washington to Leeshurg; thence north 85°, east to Perry Township line; thence north with Perry and Green to Sugar Creek; thence up the creek to beginning, which portion was added to Concord for the convenience of schools and working the roads.


In June, 1840, a petition, signed by the householders of Madison Township, praying for a division of the same, so as to form two separate townships, was presented to the county commissioners, in pursuance of which the board appointed Jacob Creamer, county surveyor, to ascertain whether there was territory sufficient to warrant a division, and if so, to run a line through the center of the same, so as to make an equal division. The surveyor, upon finding sufficient territory, proceeded to divide the township as per instructions. The board being satisfied that the interest of the citizens of the aforesaid township required a division, ordered the report of the surveyor to be placed on record, and said townships estabhshed as laid down in said plat.

The northern part of the division shall be known as the original township of Madison, and the southern part shall be known by the name of Marion. That the electors of Marion Township assemble, on July 18, 1840, at the house of John McArthur, on the Circleville road, to elect township officials, who shall continue in office until the next annual spring election.


On the 4th of June, 1844, a petition was presented to the commissioners by N. Rush, as attorney, praying for a new township to be taken from Green and Wayne, which was refused on account of a remonstrance by L. V. Willard.

June 4th, 1845, a petition was presented by Robert Eyre, and the new township was granted, called Perry. Beginning at a point where the state road leading from Washington to Leesburg crosses Rattlesnake Creek; thence on a straight line to Samuel Brigg's mill (near the mouth of Sugar Creek); thence down Paint Creek to the Highland County line; thence west with said line to Rattlesnake; thence up said creek to beginning, thus including a part of Wayne aud Green. These limits, as will be observed, left out that portion north of the line extending from near Buena Vista to the mouth of Sugar.

June 14, 1845, a petition was presented signed by Wayman Stafford and a number of others, protesting against the decision of the commissioners in forming a new township, and finally an appeal bond was filed, in the sum of five hundred dollars, with James Larkins and Anderson Rowe securities, and notice given of an appeal to the court of common pleas. Subsequently a decision was rendered favorable to its organization, and that portion annexed north of the line from Buena Vista to Briggs' mill.

Other Counties